Poem 58 In Solidarity: You Who Wronged

Czeslaw Milosz.Tr.Richard Lourie

As an act of solidarity with the spirit of the Turkish resistance, prominent fiction writer, Nadeem Aslam sends in Czeslaw Milosz’s poem on the Poetry Foundation website as translated by Richard Lourie. Thanks Nadeem!

You Who Wronged

You who wronged a simple man
Bursting into laughter at the crime,
And kept a pack of fools around you
To mix good and evil, to blur the line… MORE

From The Collected Poems: 1931-1987 (The Ecco Press, 1988). The complete poem can be found at the Poetry Foundation website

Nadeem Aslam

Nadeem Aslam

Nadeem Aslam is the author of three previous novels, Season of the Rainbirds (1993), Maps for Lost Lovers (2004) – longlisted for the Booker Prize, shortlisted for the IMPAC Prize, and awarded the Kiriyama Prize and the Encore Award – and The Wasted Vigil (2008), described by A. S. Byatt as ‘unforgettable … tragic and beautifully written’.

His latest novel is The Blind Man’s Garden (2013)- set in Pakistan and Afghanistan in the months following 9/11: a story of war, of one family’s losses, and of the simplest, most enduring human impulses.

Born in Gujranwala,Pakistan, he now lives in England.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s